I have a few questions about the nature/wildlife photography field...

blackrose89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a photography student, I really love photographing flowers, trees, animals, insects ( Oh man do I love photographing insects lol), etc. I spend a lot of hours looking at professional photos for inspiration and guidelines.

I'm no where near good enough yet, I just have some general questions about this type of photography from people who may know more on a personal level

1. Getting noticed, are there particular places I should submit my photos?
2. What are the type/aspects of a photo do people who are judging submitted photos look for?
3. Is it possible to become "employed" as a nature/wildlife photographer, or is all about marketing yourself? Is there any possibility to have stability in this field?
4. Are there any particular photos you recommend trying to capture to practice with or that might grab more attention?

Any added tips/advice would be great!

a good place to start would be istockphoto.com. Not necessarily submitting your images to it (though you can do that as well), but their guidelines for submitting images really taught me a lot about what professional buyers look for in a photograph.

Protip #4865 The better you are at doing something can be directly proportional to the amount of money you can make doing it.