I have focus issues

columbus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to the whole manual focus thing and I'm getting pretty frustrated when I get my prints back and what I thought I was focusing on is not what shows up in the print.

I'm trying to use the split screen focus, but I don't know if I'm just impatient or don't know what I'm doing

Does anyone have any tips on manual focus? I imagine it just takes frustration and practice to get it right.

What camera are you using and how are you using the split-image focusing aid?

You may not have a focusing issue.

Perhaps it's a missalignment of the focusing screen to film plane? It is an old camera n the foam n mirror bumpers may be rotted?

Another focusing problem is diopter. Do you wear glasses?

Another possable cause can be you are choosing a very shallow ƒ-stop, the DOF is so critical you are not getting what you had expected?

Lets see what you are talking about, post a pic?

You may not have a focusing issue.

Perhaps it's a missalignment of the focusing screen to film plane? It is an old camera n the foam n mirror bumpers may be rotted?

Another focusing problem is diopter. Do you wear glasses?

Another possable cause can be you are choosing a very shallow ƒ-stop, the DOF is so critical you are not getting what you had expected?

Lets see what you are talking about, post a pic?

The camera I'm using is a Ricoh KR-10. It seems to be in fairly good condition, despite some dust in the viewfinder. I do wear contacts, but I don't think the camera has a diopter adjustment. I usually try to use the middle part of the focus screen dot with the split image. I find it difficult to be precise using the little dots around the middle circle.

It is quite possible that it's a dof issue since I do use f2.0 a lot since I shoot with low light a lot. I think I'm just being inaccurate.

Here is a a pic- I thought I was focusing on the newspaper things, but apparently not.