I have no photography experience, but want to buy a camera for my wife. Need Help!

hrd2imagin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My wife was a photography enthusiast for a long time while she was in High School and College. She's been "out of the game" for about 7 years and has missed out on the digital revolution.

I'm a web developer that just purchased Adobe CS3 (web premium), and thought that with such a powerful tool, it should be put to good use, and not just by me.

With her birthday coming up, I'd like to buy her a great camera that can get her back in the door of photography. Something that's great for amateurs, not overwhelming, and may lead her into professional status down the road. Hoping that there's something in the price range of $500 to $750.

Everyone's input and suggestions is greatly appreciated!

Ok, so I was reading through some other "which camera" threads and realized that there's much more to it.

So please still help me out, and ignore my price range!! :lol:

With that sort of budget, you look to be comfortably in reach of things such as the Nikon D40x, Canon 400D or the Olympus Evolt, all of which would be a great reintroduction for your wife.

Welcome to the forum.

Firstly, the way I see it, there are two main directions you can go here. The first would be to get a smaller digital camera (digi-cam or point & shoot, you might call them). You could get a great one for $500. They are small and easy to carry around, you can get them with plenty of control options, so a photo enthusiast would still find them fun. They can be convenient but image quality takes a back seat.