I haz a DSLR... I iz a photographer now!

SabrinaO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This girl from another forum just got her first dslr last week. I helped her choose her camera and I've given her some info on shooting in manual, exposure, focusing, composition... basically everything she NEEDS to know. Shes posted some of her shots and they just look like average snapshots because she can only shoot in auto.
Well today she pm's me in a panic because she has a "shoot" tomorrow and lost all the links I gave her. She said she wants to "cram in as much information as she can" before her shoot. She has a facebook photography fan page of her "services" and is charging $75hr for her "sessions".
OK... enough with the quotes but its hard to take this seriously! I mean I just got my dslr a few months ago and learned SO MUCH and i'm studying and learning new things everyday. I never want to stop learning. I mean would'nt you want to be the best you can be before you start charging people for your services? I mean i wouldn't want to put my name or my services behind subpar or shoddy work.
Is it just me or do any of you get upset in people thinking just because they have a DSLR they are now instant and awesome photographers? Photography is a craft and a camera is just a tool. I can't take van gogh's paintbrush and automatically paint wonders... smh

Gosh, I hope she has a BIG, herkin' watermark, a cheezy web site or Facebook page, a ridiculously low-cost price sheet for all the images on CD, and a name for the business that consists of her name, followed by the word Photography, like "Beckie Lynette Newbie Photography". Oh, and I hope she has a huge list of friends and family who have told her, "Beckie Lynette, your pi'chers are so,so good!"

The above is all in good fun, but I think I covered most of the essentials for a new Facebook-era photography business...