I just got

sarahthirteen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone Im new here I dunno if this has been asked I searched for it and so much stuff came up that its hard to sift through so forgive me if its been asked already but....

My moms friends just gave me a Pentax K1000 with a 50mm lens and a 135mm lens... Im new to slr Ive worked with dslr's before but not an all manual slr I am a little intimidated by it but decided to get some film and start shooting... I havent finished my first roll yet so I havent gotten any developed so who knows what ive done haha... but I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions/tips for using it?

also if anyone has any color photos they can share with me? Ive seen amazing b/w pix taken with it and heard its great for b/w but not too much about color or seen any color shots.

also film wise should i go the drug store route when buying or hit up a camera shop cuz I went to two drug stores and only one had b/w film and it was only one roll... id love to find like a 4 pack like you can with color. I mainly want to shoot b/w with this camera but some color here and there.

Thanks for any help

Sarah

Do some research on the web.

You may be able to find film cheaper from a site like Freestyle Photographic Supplies - Traditional Black & White Film, Paper, Chemicals, Holgas and ULF or bhphotovideo or adorama

However it all depends on what kind of film you want to shoot. Sometimes photo stores or drugstores have cheap film because it's about to expire and they just want to get rid of it, or because they genuinely do have cheaper prices.

The other thing you can do is bulk film rolling. Basically you pay for 100 ft of film, and film canisters, and a bulk rolling machine. It'll work out ot less on a per roll basis then buying actual film in the store.