I love me some D50s

joeymas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
phillysnaps.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
In light of the fact that I just bought another D50 this weekend, I decided to blog about why I did so on my site. - I felt I would share with the forum as well.

My secret is cheap cameras! I once had a professional look and my camera while I was shooting out on the beach in Miami. We got into a geek discussion on equipment when out of nowhere he started picking on my D50. For those that do not know, the Nikon D50 is over a decade old when it comes to DSLR cameras.

I have a love affair with the D50 and always have. First off... They are a workhorse and built incredibly solid. I have never had one fail on me as I have had with newer models. Second, I can get amazing quality out of them because I know the camera inside and out.

Being a professional, I have several cameras in my collection. My D50s are great back ups should something go wrong on a job. They are awesome to take places where you may not want to have to worry about your equipment. The beach or shooting in bad weather or maybe even night club and bar events where a camera can get ruined.

The greatest part about keeping D50s around is that they are easily replaced for under 200.00. It is a nice quality, professional DSLR that is expendable.

Would I ever take a D50 to a wedding? Hells yes! I shoot weddings with a D7000 however I usually have that 7000 on manual and I am trying to be artistic with it. While shooting a wedding, there are always guests that may tug at your arm and ask for a photo. Instead of changing all the settings on the 7000 for a quick snap shot, I can reach down to my D50 outfitted with my trusty 18-55 lense and fire off the shot in seconds.

When you consider the D50 is fast, durable, cheap and produces good quality photographs, I feel that it is the perfect back up camera to have in an "Oh ****" moment.

interestingly enough....