I made my choice

VaE39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new in photograph (had a few point & shoots here and there) and I was looking for an entry level D-SLR. I was torn between Canon Rebel xt and Nikon D40. They both have the capability of amazing pictures. For some reason I tend to see many amazing shots with the Canon. Then came the whole internal af debate. And it came down to the feel of the camera. I fell in love with the Nikon. It just felt better in my hands and besides my family has a few Nikon SLRs here and there so why not stay in the family. I plan on ordering the Nikon D40 lens kit soon and I can't wait to learn. I've been doing a lot of research on just the art of photography in general. I want to do a lot of scenery and portraits. I love portraits, just the way they capture emotions. Do you guys have any tips for portraits?

Hmmm - well so long as you like it.

Why was the D80 taken off the table. And no prime lenses - that would have been enough for me to say no thank you. Most will say they use primes to take portraits (faster in those light settings and overall very sharp pieces of inexpensive glass).

Well the Canon was nice, but I fell for the Nikon. The D80 and 40x were taken off the list b/c of the price. Right now, all I want is to learn. I love photography but I didn't want to invest into something and not keep going with it. So to be safe I just wanted to get the basic entry level for my first camera. It should take me awhile to grow out of it since I'm a complete beginner. I mean, complete. All I know is that I love photography and I want to get into it while I still can. So for now, I'm learning the bare basics before I even get the camera. Once I do I'll start from there

I think you'll be suprised at how quick you want to "upgrade" - heh, I know I was.