I need a good point & shoot camera! Any rec's?

jess_k

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I currently have a Nikon D50, but want to get a 2nd camera that I can take out with me & not have to worry about how large it is, how expensive it is, etc...

I recently took back two Nikon's because the photo quality was so incredibly grainy & had almost a halo effect around the edges of people especially. The Nikon S52 & the Nikon Coolpix S610. I picked up a Panasonic Lumix FZ28 yesterday & am not thrilled with it either. I've adjusted all of the settings, even had the people at the camera store look at them & they seem to be on all the appropriate settings.

Is there a point & shoot camera out there that takes clear photos? Am I just used to the clear crisp photos I am getting with my D50 that I am being too picky? I am a graphic designer so I am usually not printing my photos, but rather using them for online purposes.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

I really like the sx110. We have it for 280$, and I think it's worth the money(I've sold four in a month...). All the modes of a SLR, 10x optical zoom, IS, etc...

canon powershot s5

hands down. I have one but just bought a xsi. the s5 is the most slr like point and shoot, takes phenomenal photos

I've used the S5 and I must say the pics are very nice!

Awesome! Now I need to go return this camera & pick up that one. Thanks! :mrgreen:

The G9's have an incredible reputation with the Stobist group. The results that I saw were darn impressive too.

I have a D50, but I still love my Canon Powershot A620. It takes amazing pictures. I'd go with Canon for a P&S.

The G9's have an incredible reputation with the Stobist group. The results that I saw were darn impressive too.