I need to make my own website but I don't know where to start

Kbarredo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so I came across someone that just might help me get into an actual business. She is an owner of one of the salon franchises in town. While I was getting my hair cut by one of the workers we started talking. I told her I was a photographer and she asked if she could see my work and if I could leave her some cards. She says she does many grad students hairs and she will send them to me for grad photos. I didn't have cards or a website. I don't really want to tell all my potential clients to go look at photobucket for my work. I told her I would have some cards next time I get my hair cut.
Anyways I need to start developing a website but I have no clue how to do it? I can't rely on facebook anymore as it's very inconvenient to non friends. What did you guys use to make your first website?

I'm using Zenfolio as well. but you might want to take a step back and look at everything involved with the business side of things before just throwing up a site and taking money.

my website except the blog is 100% zenfolio. They even have blog but I dont use it.

I'm using Zenfolio as well. but you might want to take a step back and look at everything involved with the business side of things before just throwing up a site and taking money.

^^^that

Smugmug is very customisible ... it may feel daunting at first but there are some fantastic volunteers who help people out with coding to get that personalised look. You can create both public and private galleries, password protected galleries and depending on account type, it can automatically add your watermark if you are wanting to do that.

does smugmug put my name in the domain name first. I just don't want people to have to remember smugmug.com/barredophotography/blah you know what I mean?