I never wanted to be a pro, but......

MikeBcos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been asked to take some photographs of people at their job.

The people asking know I am not a pro, they know I don't have pro equipment, but they have used a few of my photographs in some printed literature.

They want one group shot of 20 people, to be printed, probably no larger than 16x20. They want 5-10 photographs of some of this group at their work. These will be indoor shots, in a well lit environment. These photos will be used mainly on web sites and as small printed versions in leaflets.

Now, I really don't want to be a pro, but these people are very good customers in my daily job and I will be doing this as part of my daily job (graphic design and printing).

The big question, how much to charge? I'm figuring an hourly fee for the photography then a fee per photograph supplied.

The customer will gain the rights to use the photographs as they see fit.

Maybe they are expecting you to charge less than what a pro does, just maybe...

Charge leasing rights for booklets, like an x amount every year.

Well, I had to make my decision today. To explain a little further, I run a print company, I do graphic design and customer liaison/sales. The people asking me for some photographs are my biggest clients, they are 60% of my business. When they called and said they want me to take some photographs the last thing I was going to say was "no".

The customer wants about 11 photographs taken over 2 sessions. The first session will be shooting Doctors at work in a hospital, for this I will supply 10 shots. Each shot will have two files, one print quality, one web quality.

The second session will be a group photo with about 20 people. For this, I will supply one 8x10 professional print.