I think i may have broken my first ever camera!

Andreal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, I am brand new to photography (ie. I just finished reading the manual and that is the extent of my current knowledge). I was interested in getting into photography and a friend of mine suggested the Nikon D80 to start with, after doing a bit of online research and having a look at the camera in some store I decided that it was the one for me. However after a few weeks of owning it and playing with the settings to learn how it works and stuff, I fear I may have broken it!

Now the problem is, the camera seems to be acting as if it has some sort of manual override. It will autofocus when the shutter release is held down half way, but if I then turn the autofocus ring it will manually change the focus. I have made sure that both lens and camera are set to autofocus and I have reset all the settings on the camera but this still happens. I am 90% sure that this camera didnt used to do this, I could autofocus, turn the dial and nothing would happen. Have a broken something, is it easily fixable, or was I wrong and is the camera functioning properly, anyone with a D80 know?

Would really appreciate any help anyone can give, Im going crazy with worry!

As far as I know (at least with Canons cameras) manually turning the focus ring will always change the focus. Now this could damage the lens if is it in auto focus unless it's one of Canons usm lens' which have manual focus override.

What lens are you using?

Im using the 18-135mm lens that came with the camera. Sorry if this is too vague a description, im still really new to this.

you didn't break it, its' supposed to do that. It's an AF-S lens, meaning instant manual focus override, just from touching the ring.

It's good that it does that.

Oh thank god :D

Thanks for all the helpful replies! I guess I just didn't notice it before :D