I want a camera LIKE THE iPHONE CAM

blinktank

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a total beginner/novice when it comes to cameras and photography; but I've got to learn. So my first step pretty much is to get a professional-quality camera. How to choose? I've been reading magazines and such, which does teach me some but it's still a lot to take in and nothing compares to hands-on experience.

The only real significant experience I have with one camera is with the one built in to the iPhone. Everyone loves iPhone pics, I'm sure I'm not alone in this; I've adopted a sort of obsession with snapping iPhone pics, and for the following reasons:

1. First of all, they almost always look stunningly perfect, effortlessly. This should be a given for most if not all professional cameras -- all the ones I've seen, the camera is supposed to make the difference (for starters), so I'm assuming this is a given/rule. The iPhone can pick up a great range of color saturation and portray it beautifully. (Excuse my use of terminology etc., I really don't know what I'm talking about, or I don't know how to properly technically convey what I mean to say, so just work with me; constructive criticism and corrections or tips are welcome though, feel free.)
  2. The auto-focus/timing is so on point that I can reliably snap a pic of some scenery outside a tunnel, while driving, AS I am ENTERING the tunnel -- like when you would think you'd missed the intended shot/capture -- and the iPhone seemingly never fails. I review my photos, already disappointed because I do not expect my last pic to have come out as I had wished -- but miraculously, it has. It's beautiful. and I swear I snapped the photo upon entering the tunnel. (What is that, super shutter speed? I'm not even positive...)