I want a LF camera... someday.

Samriel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Well, I'm basically quite new to photography with only 8 months of owning a dSLR and trying to shoot more than the typical snapshots. I've used the time to shoot as much as possible and I discovered I positively love photography. I've been shooting a bit of everything, trying to find my "niche", and I'm slowly progressing towards that goal. So far so good.
Now, recently I've been really wanting to do some film shooting (maybe because of some threads around here...). Don't ask me why, I just feel like going to the darkroom and developing some film. I've NEVER used film since I got interested into photography, I have NO idea how to develop film etc. Basically I'm an absolute beginner when it comes down to film. But I really feel like doing some film photography, and doing it BIG - I mean large format, no MF or 35mm film. I really enjoy slowly creating a scene, be it a still life scene or a nude, and then setting up the camera and slowly taking the shot. I somehow feel LF would really be a pleasure to work with as a change of pace to the rather dynamic digital workflow (not to say I don't like my digital workflow). I can use a darkroom for free, so I won't have to bother with making one at my (rather small) home. I also have somebody to teach my the basics of film developing.
So, here I am, thinking of how to get my hands on a LF camera. However, I find that I have a serious knowledge lack when it comes to LF, so what I basically want to ask could be summed up with the following few questions:

1. Any good entry level books on LF photography and cameras? I've seen someone mention some Ansel Adams books when talking about LF. Also, any good website about LF photography?
  2. A recommendation for a beginners 4x5 setup? As cheap as possible, used is OK (probably even a must).
  3. A recommendationf for a beginners 8x10 setup? Same conditions as above.