If Client did not like your photo and decides not to pay you, is that right?

nedomik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I work as an assistant wedding photographer and the bride did not like the color of her hair on some of the photos because she said it is "lighter than it should be". She demands to get the original copies of the photos but unfortunately, it was my mistake I did not have any of the original copies after editing them (which was basically brightness/contrast). I told my photographer boss that since the bride isn't happy he could deduct money from my paycheck for that wedding. I only get paid $11/hour. A wedding is usually 10-15 hours. So, I get about $100-150 per wedding. I don't get paid for the editing work I have to do after the wedding. Apparently, editing work is included already on that $100-150/wedding. My photographer boss said that since I could not get him the original photos, he needs to go to someone else to fix my photos who is good in photoshop and it would cost him $100. I would end up getting paid only between $0-50. Is that right? Is that fair? They still have my photos. Not all of the photos are bad. Besides, taking photos is only half of the work and editing is the other half. I am only willing to deduct maximum 50% of my paycheck. What should I do?

No. It is not fair. It's not possible to fix a non-RAW image.

Let this be a harsh lesson to never destructively edit your originals. Always keep originals separate from edits no matter what. $100 or whatever inconsequential sum is a small price to pay to learn this lesson.