If I may, a little rambling

pbelarge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been reading and viewing photos in the different forums, but I keep coming back to this forum to post.
I see all the same work that most here see. It intrigues and inspires me to improve (which is not difficult at this stage, I am only a beginner).

I used to think that I was poorly situated in my environment to produce great shots, as I have viewed spectacular work online. Woe is me how will I ever learn

However, I have learned more than just photography skills lately, and have come to the realization that I am in a great location for shooting.

Yesterday I spread my wings a little and drove into downtown NYC. I have seen some shots from there that have me wondering if I can produce similar work. It took me 35 minutes to reach lower Manhatten. Not bad!

I have also driven 40 minutes north of me for landscape type shots. Not too bad either

I am going to do some PP work on a few of the shots and I will post them (I am even less skilled at PP than snapping shots). I am very curious to see if others see what I saw - and if I am able to convey those feelings with my work.

After decades of photography, I've come to realize that I only need my own neighborhood to photograph in. For me, it's more about composition, light, and meaning than having an inherently beautiful or dramatic subject. It forces me think about the photo more. And I can watch the changes of season and lighting to plan my shots. (There's a plant I've been waiting on for almost a year now, because I waited too long last year when everything was right.)