If you could give 1 piece of advice....

sarahp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sarahpetriephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been a pro for just over a year, so obviously I don't know it all, but I'm noticing a lot of behaviors in other "pros" that I think are so completely unprofessional it's making me crazy. Things like "recycling" their old business cards by placing white stickers over the name of the studio they used to work for and the contact information, and writing in their own phone number on the bottom of the card. Another told a roomful of her friends (3 of whom also happened to be MY CLIENTS) how much she pays for prints from her Pro Lab - thus prompting one of my clients to ask me to switch labs and lower my prices (Wha-HUH!?!?!). So, I thought I'd ask you all - If you could give 1 piece of advice to a new professional in regards to the way they behave/perform within the industry - to help them be respected and taken seriously by other pros and by clients - what advice would you give?

what advice would you give?

don't search for advice on TPF.

I always find advice in threads that blows me away and feel that its my duty as a photographer to make sure no one actually follows the advice or takes it to heart.

Also, if you sold banana's on the corner you wouldnt be telling people what you pay for the skid full. That lady was quite silly.

People pay the big bucks because there is a mystery as to what you do. If you started handing out Photoshop Tutorials and listing your profits, well than.. there goes the mystery.

Set your standards to a level you're comfortable with and never deviate.

If clients threaten you with cheaper alternatives, wish them luck, be polite and move on.

Don't be concerned with what other 'pros' are doing. They don't have anything to do with what you're doing. Just do your job to your standards.