If you could only choose 3 lenses.... Canon ef mount

motorider

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to the hobby and just purchased a new t3i to get started. I have the 18-55 that came with it and a i have a 75-300 ef III that i purchased with a digital rebel many years ago. what I want to know is if you could only have 3 lenses for the canon ef mount, which ones would it be? Please include any L series lenses in primes or zooms. I will eventually own FF camera, so i want my lenses to be able to move to the new camera when that time comes. I shoot everything that seems of interest. ie the moon, flowers, my motorcycle, landscapes, im kinda like an adhd photographer....lol.

thanks for the input

Eh I wouldn't limit myself to just 3 lenses and I wouldn't limit myself to just Canon. In the end its not the number of lenses that's important - what's important is that you are able to afford building a setup in a reasonable amount of time which allows you to explore your creativity with the camera in as many varied situations as you are able to with the least amount of limitations upon yourself.

For that its not the lenses that are important first, its your criteria on the table. An idea of really what you like doing and shooting, budgets, limits on size and weight etc..... Everyone shoots a little bit of everything, but most people tend to gravitate toward certain key areas of interest (and these in turn can shift a little over time).

I can list you three good lenses - I can list you five or even six that I'd choose. But in the end they would be lenses for me that would suit my needs and might be totally useless for yourself.

depending on how you like to shoot, it could change peoples opinions on lenses.
some people might list zooms, some people fixed focals.
really though, you should try out some lenses and pick the ones that are best suited for YOUR shooting style and photography needs.