I'm a beginner: Help me decide my first lens

858Smith said:
thanks for your replies, everyone!!

i have no idea what that means lol I see in the pics below, the comparison of the tree, but is that "design" in the back the blades?

anything less than 1.8 shows blades as shefjr said, does that mean I should only use 1.8? doesn't that defeat the purpose?

um, of food & stuff ;) I shoot nothing at all. seriously. I whip out the camera to practice lol

What to look at in the two quick sample photos is the shape of the colored circles. Notice how at f1.8 they are round and just by stopping down 3 stops the shape has already changed from circles to something of a stop sign.
So the point that was being made is that you can still stop the lens down however, the bokeh created won't be circular.

50mm f1.8 or 35mm f1.8

thAnks!

thanks, nathsfromlg!

what about 40mm f2.8??

AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G

Isnt that a pancake lens? I really dont know anything about that

i don't know what a pancake lens is ;)

858Smith said:
thanks for your replies, everyone!!

i have no idea what that means lol I see in the pics below, the comparison of the tree, but is that "design" in the back the blades?

anything less than 1.8 shows blades as shefjr said, does that mean I should only use 1.8? doesn't that defeat the purpose?

um, of food & stuff I shoot nothing at all. seriously. I whip out the camera to practice lol

What to look at in the two quick sample photos is the shape of the colored circles. Notice how at f1.8 they are round and just by stopping down 3 stops the shape has already changed from circles to something of a stop sign.
So the point that was being made is that you can still stop the lens down however, the bokeh created won't be circular.

I get it now! that sucks.