I'm going to college

mitsugirly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have the opportunity to go back to school (in my old age lol) because I was able to get a grant and scholarship. I decided to go ahead and take photography in order to improve my skills. I know I have increased my skills over the last 9 months tremendously, but have a long way to go.

I had brought this subject up before asking if it was worth it to go to photography school, how many people did and so on. Most people said they were self taught. I know there are a lot of things for me to learn and photographers are constantly learning for years. I just figured it would help me out with everything I'm missing or can't figure out.

I'm just excited and wanted to share and hear any thoughts and suggestions on electives I should take if you know any. I start winter quarter, which is Jan 5th. I'm counting down the days.

well it depends really..
in my short 6 weeks in college
I have a few tutors (who admit) they dont know anything about the subject, yet they need to teach it.
Also one of my tutors is teaching sutdents VERY bad habits, I wont say which (as they may lurk this board as I have shown them it before)
basically the workflow isnt very well taught.
Lets just say, When they fix up stuff they dont use seperate layers they work on the one original layer

However there are other Tutors that are very good with their workflow and teach good habbits

If you plan to work for someone else: Photography school.

If you plan to work for yourself: Business school.

Take it.
Remember that proper schooling can give you a good framework to work to and it also frees up your time to dedicate to photography (your doing schoolwork not just messing around now ;) ).