I'm Looking to start a B&W only darkroom, looking for tips

kilifila66

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok I am looking to make a black and white only darkroom. These are my questions.
1) What do I need to start a darkroom in terms of supplies?
2) What chemicals do I need?
3) What lighting would you recommend?
4) Which type of film does your recommended setup support (i.e. c41)?
5) What type of paper do you recommend for B&W?

I am not sure if all of these questions are related to the darkroom specifically but I only have 1 thing to bear in mind, I do not have a lot of space to work with. Thanks for any help you can give, sorry im a TOTAL noob with this stuff.

1) What do I need to start a darkroom in terms of supplies?
An enlarger
Trays
For film, a film developing tank with reels

2) What chemicals do I need?
For prints you need a print developer, a stop bath and a fixer and for film a film developer and you can use the same stop and fixer (the fixer might need to be a different ratio though)
3) What lighting would you recommend?
They recommend certain amber bulbs, I am using a red light because I'm cheap :) but it works just fine. I put two pieces of black cardboard around the light though because there was a tiny amount of white light coming out around the top and the black would absorb a lot of that

4) Which type of film does your recommended setup support (i.e. c41)?
Black and white, if you haven't done darkroom at all before I wouldn't recommend going with c41 and color because the chemicals are more toxic and you have to everything in the dark. Not very many people do their own c-41.

5) What type of paper do you recommend for B&W?
Whatever is cheap :p But I'm using Ilford right now and it is giving a lot better result than the kodak I used to have but that might just be because I have a slightly better idea of what I'm doing now. If you are just getting started I would look into the Arista.EDU over at freestyle because it looks like a good deal.