I'm not getting any better, and I'm not very original anymore..

Phazan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Have any of you ever felt like this?
I'm somewhat new to photography still, (Almost 3 years) but I was recently looking at some older pictures I've taken before I got my SLR. They look really nice, and I wonder what happened to all that talent. My pictures just don't seem that great anymore. Maybe I'm just still getting used to my DSLR, but every good picture I've taken with it looks like someone elses. I don't have my own style that made people think "ohhh, that's something only Brandon would think of!" I almost feel like I should stop learning new photography tricks! :confused:

Slow down and get back to what's important. The very first thing you should do is grab a 256mb Memory card and shoot in RAW.

The curse of the DSLR is that taking photos is free. If it's not free (limited card space for a given day) then you will stop, think, slow down a bit, and not just take photos for photos sake.

Other things you can try and do is take all photos with a tripod. All of them. Again it'll slow you down. You will put more effort into framing and composing.

Absolutely. It's kind of hard to give advice as to what to do about it, as each person's "photographic wall" (kinda like writer's block) has to be overcome individually, but I can tell you that it happens to just about everyone. I have been into photography for 22 years now, and it has happened a few times where I feel I am out of sync with what I am doing. Sometimes I just put the camera away for a little while, or flip through some books or magazines just to get some new ideas for what I want to try.