I'm on the fence between Canon and Nikon. Help!

metroprimes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey! So to get down to brass tacks, here's a quick introduction on where I stand as a photographer/who I am: I'm a photographer of roughly 3 years of experience. Am I good? I couldn't tell you. I just like to take pictures. I haven't messed with any studio lighting equipment, and I really only use Photoshop for selective coloring/basic editing in camera RAW. Anyway, I intend on venturing into the photojournalism career track and I understand that eventually, I'm going to need some reliable gear, which is why I've come to a forum to maybe learn a little more about gear itself and to learn from other people's own experiences.

I present to you my dilemma that's been racking my brains for quite some time: I cannot make a decision on who the most reliable manufacturer is (in terms of producing gear, bodies, better prices, more features). I suppose I should know by now that the most important aspects of photography are most likely the lighting and the lens that you use for the job. I've owned the Canon's 7d and I traded it in for the Nikon's D7000 because it seemed to out-perform the camera in a few ways, and I can see that Canon is raising the prices for their new line of L series lenses with little features to be added. This means that I no longer have use for the Canon lenses I have and I've realized that by buying the more expensive lenses, I'm making a pact with one particular company. This idea scares me mainly because I don't want one particular company to usurp the other, and to be stuck with the cheaper equipment.