iMac or Mac Pro?

nsinnott

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In need of replacing and upgrading my computer, currently have a MacBook and using Lightroom 4 and cs6. I am need of a Great computer for photo editing but can also be transported to the events I photograph. I wouldn't say that money isn't a factor, it always is, but I want to make a wise choice. I would like to stay with Mac, but am completely open on the best way to proceed. Should I get a loaded iMac, wait for the Mac Pro, or some other option? Thanks in advance for everyone's input.

I've been a PC builder and user for years. Anyhow, we bought an iMac 3-4 years ago and recently switched our PC laptops to Macbook Pros. I've got zero complaints! I absolutely love my Macbook Pro! I use Lightroom 5 which is okay for basic editing but I really need to switch to Photoshop.

personally, I run a macbook pro 13" (mid 2012 (i7, 2.9ghz), so the model prior to retina) - swapped out the super drive for an SSD, and then the regular HDD with another SSD - boosted the memory to 16gb - runs like a dream.

I hook it up to an external monitor, so I then have a super powerful and fast machine with capabilities to switch into full HD if need be.

been looking at the exact same thing upgrading from my current, The fully upgraded Imac is definitely the best value option not to mention how powerful it in in contrast to a macbook for pricewise, I wouldn't bother with the new mac pro if you want it to travel well but if you have a large budget, I'd recommend a macbook to travel with and an Imac for a stationary set-up as obviously they weren't designed with mobility in mind unlike the laptops

Also, dont forget if you're a student you get a whopping 12% off Macs or ex military which is also 12% off !