Image quality of different zoom lenses

mikoh4792

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Between lenses like the nikkor 18-105, 18-55, 18-300, 70-300....etc, why are some better than others in terms of image quality? For example I've been surfing the web and I hear that the 70-300mm is better than the 55-200mm.. but is there a reason why? Is it not the same glass, just different focal range?

In that case, excluding the wide aperature lenses(2.8) and the more expensive zooms, which zooms are the best for Nikon cameras?(ie. 70-300? 18-105?)

Sorry if these are very amateurish questions, I'm new to photography, and even newer to picking the right glass for my camera

All lenses are collection of compromises. There is no such thing as 'perfect' optics. ALL lenses will have optical characteristics that are to the detriment of the image. Chromatic abberation, coma, astigmatism, vignetting, etc. are all part of the package deal. As the saying goes, "Warts and all." There is no way, at least in this universe, to completely and totally eliminate them.

Yes, they can reduce these problems, but the resulting lens is most likely one that has no retail viability. It will be far too large, heavy and expensive. So designers must make choices. Accept a bit of certain optical issues in exchange for creating a lens that people will want to pay for.

Some lenses are designed and created to reduce the optical issues as much as possible, and are intended for the pro market ("Top-shelf glass" and "Trinity" come to mind). Other lenses will be made with more 'warts' as they are destined for the amateur market ("Kit" lenses).

Thanks 480sparky. With that in mind, between zooms like the 55-300 vs 70-300mm vs 18-300.... if I am not concerned about focal range, is there a noticeable difference in sharpness between these lenses?

Great link! Thanks Designer.

There are 3 grades of lens: Consumer/Kit grade, prosumer grade, professional grade.