Image question

MPCSound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello group, I am a photography hobbyist and have been shooting with a Canon 700D(T5i) for over two years now. My first DSLR, and have been learning more about working in Manual Mode and understanding the relationships between my f/stop, Shutter and ASA. I have noticed how the night sky changes color with simple adjustments to the any of these. I understand that topic.

My settings and camera setup... Canon 700D, Canon 18-135mm lens, UV Filter, 18mm, f/3.5, 15.0 sec, 400 ASA

Last week I was taking pictures of the night sky in Sequoia NP, and set up many shots with intention to paint the trees with some light. Sadly, I lost my flashlight in the trip, and had to resort to my iPhone to light. Not ideal, as you can see. However, with all settings being equal, the sky still changed color on me. Here's a shot with no light painting...
9c30da1e90fd64ca023ff6f3f99e1ba4.jpg

Here's the same shot, same settings, with my first paint. Not ideal, but here, the sky turns blue.

e295f4c215e5aba2b6a4e8cc73c14190.jpg

And here is one where I backed off the light and got a decent coverage of the tree, that could be edited to make brighter. More even spread and better. The sky appears to be as it should.

81f39f2bbb00e190b6ccb14e0ced25af.jpg

My natural deduction is that the kick from the light on the tree is what's causing the camera to treat the darks differently. As the sky came out as it should when I backed the light off.

My questions is what is ultimately causing this phenomena? Would a full sensor treat this better? Would a different camera manufacturer treat this differently? Is it the lens? Is it the UV Filter(used simple to protect the lens)?

I appreciate any feedback you may provide. Thank You!

Michael P. Clark

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

10- to 1 your camera is on auto WB. thus it is reading and averaging from no phone light and then from the phone light that will give you WB issues every time.