Image Size

MissCream said:
Forgive me but isn't this something you should know already if you have clients?

It most certainly is...this is what you call, "I got a big camera, I'm a pro" kinda thing

Is that why many of the new, instant, technically illiterate shooters are being classified with the term - fauxtographer?

What happens when a 'client', who knows even less than the shooter, wants to make a 5:4 or 7:5 print from a 3:2 image?

MissCream said:
Forgive me but isn't this something you should know already if you have clients?

Oh I don't have clients yet...I have been taking classes for about 6 months now. I guess I shouldn't have worded it the way I did. I am SLOWLY working my way to being a photographer. I thought by posting a question like this in the beginners section would make it an acceptable question. I'm not a fauxtographer by any means. I have a nice camera and some gear With hopes to blossom into one. I have always had a passion and now that I am a stay at home mom it gives me an opportunity to explore the world of photography.

EPPhoto said:
It most certainly is...this is what you call, "I got a big camera, I'm a pro" kinda thing

Ouch. :/ thanks :(

KmH said:
Is that why many of the new, instant, technically illiterate shooters are being classified with the term - fauxtographer?

What happens when a 'client', who knows even less than the shooter, wants to make a 5:4 or 7:5 print from a 3:2 image?

Another ouch :/

Tomasko said:
What would you want to do about croppping?
If you don't like certain portions of your photo, you crop them out (or you want to repair some composition problems). You can't do that without loosing those pixels you cropped out. More you crop, the smaller the print size OR the worse quality of the print. But it all depends on what do you intent to use those photos for. It is different story when you use them just for some internet gallery and different when you want to print them in big size.