Impact of max sync speed of 1/160th? Off camera flash.

bryguy_ASU

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm relatively new to photography and I like to challenge myself to new aspects of this hobby. I'd like to learn some techniques with off-camera flash.

I've been reading a little on strobist sites. Reading and watching stuff on modifiers, balancing light (i.e. ambient, key, fill, rim light, etc.), and trying to understand sync speed.

Currently I have a Samsung NX300 and I'm going to get a couple of manual speedlights. Thinking of getting two Neewer TT850's, a lumiquest softbox or beauty dish, and a light stand kit that has shoot through umbrellas.

I just learned, however, that the max sync speed is only 1/160th. Without high speed sync (HSS), what are my limitations? Would I just have blown out backgrounds in outdoor portrait photos in midday sun?

Could i still achieve creative portrait shots in home studio conditions? Or outdoors when the sun is dimming? How about when it's a little bright outside?

I just don't understand what I can and can't achieve with a 1/160 or slower sync speed. Is it even worth buying the flashes and modifiers for that speed or less?

small apertures or you can also use ND filters if you open it up a bit.

Your camera isn't much slower than most current DSLRs on the marekt which cap out at around 1/200sec to 1/250sec. So your creative options are as big as the rest.

The key to understand is that highspeed shutter sync is typically used to provide fill lighting. When the ambient light is producing most of the light for the shot and the flash is giving a small lift to the shadowed areas. It's a weaker form of lighting and also works by giving a series of pulses of light rather than a single pulse (which is why HSS isn't suitable for fast action because the pulses of light will cause minor blurring where that light influences the shot).

Last edited by a moderator: