In need of camera upgrade but require suggestions

cmdrdredd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone, first time poster so go easy on me if you would be so kind.

I currently own a Nikon D50 and have had it for many years. Obviously it doesn't have the speed, quality, and capabilities of newer cameras. I need to upgrade this camera. I am not heavily invested in the lenses, only have the 18-55 that came with it and a 55-200 VR that I purchased separately. What I have been trying to do is get some pictures of BMX racing which is pretty fast action. My camera is too slow and I am not 100% happy with the low light capabilities.

So what I was thinking is to upgrade to a newer Nikon, but I am open to other suggestions. I am not concerned with video so much but to have it would not be a bad convenience. I am familiar with both Nikon and Canon cameras. I will admit I am not a professional, but know enough to realize I need/want a little bit more than what I have right now. I have a couple questions I will outline below and hopefully someone can assist.

1) Is the quality difference between a D5200 and D3200 significant enough to spend the extra cash? I'm not against spending more if I would benefit from the extra features. I was told the D5200 would be better in low lighting conditions so it might be a better idea. (Sometimes the racing is under the lights). Also since it's faster I might be more happy with it for action shots?
2) I am not brand loyal and did also look at Canon offerings including the T4i but not being up to date on all the sensors used and such, I want to know some opinions regarding this vs the Nikon. Also is the lens quality the same between them or is there a difference?
3) Would I be better served to get an 18-200 or even 18-300 lens rather than using multiples? Is it simply a convenience factor?
3) Are there any considerations beyond what I mentioned that I should think about?