In need of help

farside17

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone,

I have a problem that I have been unable to fix for a couple weeks now. I am trying to process some older raw files (mostly portraits) but whenever I do, the colours and light/dark transition areas look really ugly and muddy. There are some places that look like they were smudged with grease and areas where the light is going from light to dark, the transition goes from a light colour to a kind of green colour and then to a dark.

I am new to any form of editing so this may very easily be my ignorance and inability to do what needs to be done, but any help will be muchly appreciated.

Any additional information anyone needs or examples just ask. I don't know what to provide. I have been using different programs and mainly get the same results. (DxO9, Lightroom 4, PSP X5)

Adapt the techniques for LR and PSP:
Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter)

The problem may be the quality, direction and color temperature(s) of the lighting you use, and/or the lighting is contributing/complicating to your editing issues. Do you only use available light?

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/photo-editing-tutorials.htm

As mentioned please post some before and after photographs that show the editing issues you are having.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Could you post some examples? Also, have you tried looking at the images on a different screen?