In need of some advice.

Sarah Elizabeth

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I started using a dslr a little over year ago. I have learned quite a bit through this forum and other means to improve my skills. I am by no means a professional or claim to be one.

I have recently been approached by a photographer in my area that wishes me to assist him with his "business" and wants me to be a second shooter for him and basically edit all of his photos in photoshop because he "doesn't feel like doing it." I have asked him before about random things like lighting and lenses and he has no clue about either of them. I don't feel that he is even comfortable to be charging people but who am I to say?

Here is the email I recieved from him.
Hey Sarah,
Ok you are on my team..I'm hiring you for any help that I need. I hope you are interested in editing, because I want to offer you 30% of my earnings to help me edit photos whenever I need the extra help. So your the manager of my editing department ;) lol.
As for any weddings that you may be interested in helping me do, I will pay you $20/hour. Sometimes I get too busy with the business that I can't edit photos for two or more different people and stay caught up with everything. So I will let you know whenever I need ya. If you go to my website and click on Contact Us, you will see your name there as a photographer ;)

Cheers!

Now this seems fine but I am working really hard pushing everyday to learn and execute my learnings. I don't think that Photoshop makes great photos at all. I feel that if you claim to be an artist you have to work hard from start to finish to get a great finished product. Am I wrong here? Should I do this guys editing so that I can get my name out there? His style and eye is nothing like mine but "do what I have to do" to start making a little money?