Independent Study- Job Shadow

brownnathanial

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was not sure where to post this but I am looking for the opinion of a professional.

I am a sophomore in high school and for my independent study I want to do a job shadow with a photographer. The only requirement is that I complete 60 hours of work before the end of the semester. I would like to observe a studio shoot as this is one setting I have never experienced. Another thing I'd like to do is help out with setting up and tearing down to learn the basics in the studio as well as lighting. Part of the project I plan to spend working on my own doing portraits for people on my own time, at my own location. My ideal final project would be to organize, set up, and shoot a shoot in a professional studio under the supervision of the professional.

The thing I am having problems with right now is how I should go about proposing this to the photographer. I was thinking of sending a letter as well as my portfolio. My instructor wants me to take my portfolio (See website- N. Brown Photography - Home) and go talk to the photographer in person but I feel that this would be invading their time and look unprofessional by showing up unannounced.

Any feedback, suggestions, anything would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I would find a REPUTABLE studio that has work that you like and then send then an introductory email to begin. I say reputable because there are aaallloootttt of photographers (even those who have studios) who would be eager to let you shadow them as an ego boost, but not all of them will give you a valuable experience.

Anyways, I'd send them an email basically explaining what you just said above.

Since you're a high school student I imagine several studios would love to have you help since they probably wouldn't see you as a threat to their business and it would mean an extra pair of hands around the studio.