Infrared Photography

MSaboe84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I bought a Nikon D60 last fall. So I love B&W photography. Even more so, I love B&W infrared photography. Unfortunately, I know nothing about fancy cameras. Due to growing up in poor finances I used disposables all the way to my senior year of college. Then, I got a Canon powershot which had faulty exposure, but had no chance to return it as I was moving to China in a week. I still got some decent shots with later photo editing. Now, a year later, I spent the money I don't have on a Nikon D60. I'm still learning how to use it and I have always LOVED LOVED LOVED infrared photos. So I bought a HOYA R-72 Infrared Filter 52mm for my lens, only to read on the internet that I have to take my camera somewhere to have it modified to be able to take infrared photos. I called the camera shops in my city and none of them even do this? I have no idea, where to look, where to go, what to do....can someone give me some tips?

I've also heard that once you switch your camera to infrared compatibility, it can only do infrared, unless you pay big moola again to have it switched back? is that right? i mean, i'd probably still do it. i'd just have to get another body. "just get another body." haha! it all sounds so simple :)

You can do infrared processing in some photo editing programs after the fact. Photoshop has an option to add an infrared adjustment layer that you can tweak to your liking, and it works quite well. I've never heard of equipping a DSLR with something that enables it to take infrared shots, but I wouldn't want to lose the other capabilities of the camera just for that. I'd suggest looking into software before you do anything to the camera.