Introducing myself and submitting 2 photos for C&C

Threesia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I've been lurking for a few days and really enjoy seeing every one's work. I'm new to photography but I've always loved it. I've been busy trying to learn the basics and more importantly learning my camera. Submitting my photos for C&C makes me nervous but I want to learn so here goes nothing. I know these don't follow the rule of thirds, as I said I'm learning.:blushing:

TGoff0004.jpg

TGoff0007.jpg

Pic 1 is good. I like a clean and sharp image. Correct exposure and good composition. I personally don't get hung up on every picture has to follow the rule of thirds. It is a technical composition guide to understand, not to live by.

Pic 2 (for me) would have been better without the tree. In this instance (and silhouette is a great effect, i know its not exactly silhouette but it's close enough), the tree overpowers the shot. I like the sky hue. Also, I see what looks like very slight motion blur (mainly in the illuminated sign). I am sure you used a tripod, but this motion blur may have come from when you pressed the shutter release. If you haven't got one, and you like doing night landscape, I would invest in a remote.

Good luck.

Pretty good shots but I find the watermark distracting. As you said yourself, you are learning. No one will be stealing a beginners images, so you don't need them.

Welcome to the forum :thumbup:

I like them both. My son has glasses so I understand that its just part of them, but I'd say for improvement in the first shot, remove the glasses. #2 I like the tree, the only thing I don't like is the bank sign. It draws the eyes straight to it. I don't know if it was possible but moving left to get the sign out of the picture would be better.

Every picture probably could be improved in some way or another so take opinions with a grain of salt.

Thanks for the replies.