Is it illegal to shoot nudes in public? in Denver?

BrettN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a Denver Student Photographer, wanting to know if I would get in trouble for shooting nudes in public or would just the model get in trouble for being nude? I know the nudity laws and indecency laws, but nothing says anything about photographing them.

I'm not a lawyer, but my view is that if you were jsut walking along and someone nude ran past you wouldn't get in trouble for taking a photo. However if you've organised a shoot as a photographer and are taking photos of a nude person chances are you will get in trouble if you get caught (at the very least if the police don't get you in trouble the model will when they get caught and its "your" fault because you organised it).

That said if you want proper legal advice on various situations its best to talk to a lawyer - online you'll get random guesses, theories and unreliable info.

Well I don't think that hiding behind your camera will do you any good!
No nudes in public places, camera or not!

Being a "Denver Student Photographer" why not ask at school? Better yet - ask the Denver police!

Being a "Denver Student Photographer" why not ask at school? Better yet - ask the Denver police!
Or at the Denver City Hall - that's likely to get you a more accurate answer then the "make the law up as we go along" police attitude.

Sad. But true.

However, a cop will likely be the first contact out in public.

Last edited:
My issue is, I don't want them to be looking for me either. I could put a vague call in I guess

I doubt that asking clarification of laws regarding nudity in public with regard to an organised photography event would raise you very high on the police's watch list.

I doubt that asking clarification of laws regarding nudity in public with regard to an organised photography event would raise you very high on the police's watch list.