Is it sharp

Hi Slap,

I'm a total novice but I will share my unwashed opinion as I try to develop my photographers eye. I will be really interested to hear what the more experienced people say.

It looks to me as though the lens is very sharp for the object in focus but goes, not soft, but out of focus very quickly as you move out from it. It doesn't look soft to me as far as I understand the definition of the term. But I am a novice and could be totally off.

I have two thoughts on this.

First, perhaps the lens is designed to work better at a greater distance.

Second, did you try to adjust the F-Stop? Assuming I'm using the terminology properly. As I understand it, sharpness can be better for a given lens at certain apeture settings; ex f3.5, f4, f5....

Last edited:
Both were shot with the lens 'wide open', meaning the aperture was not stopped down. This is typically the worst-performing setting of the aperture most lenses have. Stopping down two stops will go a long way towards increasing sharpness.

Yes, you have to balance that with an increase in ISO, but if you practice good hand-holding techniques, you can eliminate a higher ISO by being able to use a slower shutter speed. If course, this won't work with a dog that's going 200 MPH......

Expanding on the above, your DOF is a function of aperture and distance to the subject. In the first image assuming you were 10 ft away, you only had roughly 6" total in DOF. Increase that to f/8, and your total DOF increases to roughly 11", or increase your distance to 20 ft and leave your aperture at f/4.5 your DOF would be roughly 24".

Then you have the issue as mentioned above that wide open is not the sharpest setting for most lenses. Not sure what the sweet spot on this one is but I wouldn't be surprised if it wasn't f/8 or better.

To me the point in focus looks sharp considering the wide open aperture.