Is my camera good enough to go semi-pro?

porridge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, I'm new here. Wanted to ask your advice.
I am a keen digital photographer, and recently more and more friends, family and others (school playgroup for instance!) have been asking me to shoot portraits. It's got me wondering whether I could perhaps start a small business doing this in my local area. Bear in mind this a a very tentative foray!
The thing is, right now i have just a Canon Powershot G9 (latest), which although is fantastic, is not a big s****y pro digital SLR! I wonder if it would be considered acceptable to start with this, maybe build up slowly, start buying second-hand lights/ backdrops etc as and when.
Would I be a laughing stock with my little G9? should i start saving and upgrade?

EDIT - why on earth did the censor edit that word - its wasnt swearing! Just shiny, maybe i mis-spelt!

Last edited:
First of all, hi and welcome to TPF!

I am not quite sure what you mean by 'semi-pro', so it is hard for me to answer your question. However, it might be worth reading the two threads below. You might find them useful.

Thread 1
Thread 2

You COULD do it with that, but I don't think I would suggest it, even totally consumer dSLR's will produce better pics and have the option to change lenses, thats my oppinion anyway.

Welcome to the forum.

Really, the only thing that should matter, are the results. If you can make great results that people are happy with, using that camera, then good for you.

Of course, there are better cameras and I would suggest that investing in a DSLR camera would be a good decision.