Is Photography still Enjoyable After Making a Living from it?

I used to be a photo journalist. I traveled a lot and shot every working day. I loved my work ... I loved the travel. When I went on vacation I stayed home and didn't touch a camera.

I left news because even in news things were becoming reduntant ... ho hum another Super Bowl ... the Pope died again ... let the new kid shoot the Oscars ...

For more han a decade I walked away from photography. A few years ago I purchased a 20D ... the feel and response of the camera brought this wave of memories an upweling of emotions ... it was like seeing an old and dear friend.

I've never looked back ... photography is a part of my life again.

Gary

I was looking at some of your old B&W photos on your website, you do some really great work!

I think the main thing about professional photography is that you have to please the client, not yourself

Ideally, both will be pleased. I love what I do, and I love that I can make a living doing it. I think the key is to show (on your website, promotional materials, etc) exactly the kind of work you love to do, and you will attract exactly the clients that are right for you.
Someone I admire (a fellow photographer) said to me recently that ALL of your work should be your personal work. I couldn't agree more. :)

It depends on the person.

I love what I do for a living, have been doing it for over 25 years, however, I do not think I could go pro in photography. It has a special place in my life and I use it more as a balance (get away from work) thing.

I did do it professionally for a couple of gigs more for friends than anything else, but I did not make a career of it, nor do I ever plan to. For me, I think the moment something becomes a JOB, it becomes work and that adds a whole lot more to the issue than taking pictures. It takes way more than the ability to take pictures to be a successful BUSINESSMAN. You need the skills of: