Is the Casio EXILIM EX-FH20 good for product shots?

hyperforlife91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there,
I am new at graphic design and photography. I really need a camera that can give me great product shots (great zoom, resolution).

I found this camera online and it isn't very expensive but seems to look good.

However, I called Casio and they said that while it looks like a DSLR, it is really a point-and-shoot camera.

So is this camera good enough for my needs? Or should I get a DSLR?

Here is the link to the product:
Casio Exilim High-Speed Digital Cameras: EX-FH20

Thank you for helping this newb out! :)

well product photography is more about lighting, so make sure you have a decent lighting set-up

Hi there! Thanks for your reply. My apartment is on the 2nd floor (lobby not included) and I get plenty of sunlight up there. I read a lot of guides on this and they said that a light box or a tent setup would be best.

Those photography tents don't seem very expensive on ebay. I just want a camera that can help me catch details without blurring. The camera I have now is really bad. Whenever I get close or zoom in, you cannot see anything except for a blur. Thank you! :)

with the risk of sounding like a infomercial... :er:

My wife bought me this camera last year for my birthday because she said I was always bothering the kids with the usual "Hold On!... just a quick picture, while they're all going: but Daddy AGAIN?! c'mon!..." - now I use t even more than my D-SLR gear... no joke. - you can't go wrong with this one - in any case if you live here in the US or Europe, you can always return it and get your money back - I know I didn't... (my wife would've killed me though, lol!!!)

Roswell...