Issue with Depth Of field - Canon 60D

aganguly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I bought a new canon eos 60d with 18-200mm canon lens. I am new to DSLR.

I wanted to take pictures with the background as blurry/hazzy and the focussed object as prominent. I understand that this is acheived by depth of field..

Now..I have moved the dial to "Av" mode , and have set the aperture to 3.5.. I am trying this in my room..so have set the ISO to around 600-800. But, whatever I do I am not able to acheive the result..All the objects & background are prominent. I have AF button switched 'ON' on the lens and have tried with AF Quick and AF live as well..

Can you guys help me to solve this issue.

Thanks,
Archan

Use the longest possible focal length at the closest possible distance. That should give you the best separation from the backround.

@Jarmo : Did you mean that I should zoom my lens ? How to set the longest possible focal length. Also, let me know if there is any control in 60D using which I can set focal lengths. Sorry if this question sounds stupid. Thanks

If you're using the lens at 18mm indoors, you're going to have a hard time getting a shallow depth of field.

Hyperfocal Distance and Depth of Field Calculator - DOFMaster

@Jarmo : Did you mean that I should zoom my lens ? How to set the longest possible focal length. Also, let me know if there is any control in 60D using which I can set focal lengths. Sorry if this question sounds stupid. Thanks

You turn the zoom ring on the lens.. like in a twisting motion. The barrel will extend --- Zooming, by definition is changing your focal length.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.