It's a Wide World

drgibson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Another noob here. Yesterday I went to the Japanese Gardens and I decided to focus on using my 10.5 Wide Angle lens.
Shot with Fuji S2 Nikkor 10.5 f2.8 ISO 200. It was late afternoon so there were a lot of shadows and lighting was a bear. Let me know what you think and if you have any tips.
Here is gruop 1.

Deleted.

JapaneseGarden18.jpg

JapaneseGarden17.jpg

JapaneseGarden12.jpg

JapaneseGarden11.jpg

This thread is probably gonna be moved.

Hiya drgibson and welcome to ThePhotoForum.

I have moved your post to the General Gallery. The Photo Critique section is reserved for more serious critique and therefore we like to keep it to one image at a time...
(see FAQS), otherwise it just gets too confusing.

Feel free to post multiple images in other parts of the forum...or to re-post your images individually into the Photo Critique section, with more of an explanation of the shot, equipment used, settings, and some remarks on what you were trying to capture and to show.

Thank you.

I think that the reason that this thread hasn't elicited comment is that there is a lot to say but it's mostly peripheral to the actual pictures. One of the requirements in photography is that use the total environment that you are given to help produce better pictures and not fight with it. In this case, you have certain subjects, mid-afternoon light, physical environment, camera & lens to work with; unfortunately this group you have seems to be a mis-matched set.

A very short-focus lens like the Nikkor fish-eye produces very specific effects and the subject has to lend itself to those effects. - Issues of symetry, object of interest, color all are very important because some of the impoact of a fish-eye comes from its ditortion of what we see.