It's been 7 years...I'm going back to film

ShutteringFocus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been shooting Canon Digital bodies for 7 years now doing seniors and and nature (nature for myself mostly).

Now I'm going on some mighty extreme camping trips and I think I'm going to go back to film.

I'm going out west to do 3 trips starting in Feb. Each trip will be a month long. One will be backcountry skiing, another backpacking in the canyons, and another rock-climbing in the Rockies.

The reason why I want to go back to film is battery life and weight. It seems to me that I will be able to travel lighter and shoot longer without giving up all the beauties of SLR options if I go back to film.

I need some resources. I never did much with film other than a Canon Ae-1 and a few B&W classes at a local college.

Where can I find out about different Canon EOS bodies (I'd like to keep my lenses), things like slide film (isnt slide film the good stuff? how to I store and pack film for skiing in weather that can be -40 or lower?)

Anybody want to offer any advice about film, cameras, packing, weather conditions and how to protect my equipment?

Anybody ever packed camera equipment on trips like this before? Would you go back to film?

Thanks!
Zach

to be honest, I really doubt you'll be able to pack much lighter by going back to film. I mean... if you're planning on taking a lot of photos you'll have to have somewhere to carry the film, and as for batteries, you can get (theoretically) 500 (at least) shots out of a single battery, which equates to what, 20 rolls of 24 exposure film. if you brought 3 batteries you'd be looking at the equivalence of 60 rolls of film to stuff somewhere (though as few as say 40 if you used the 36 exposure film).

But, Hey whatever ya wanna do.