terri

Administrator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've signed myself up for a darkroom class and it starts next week. :cheer:

I'm really excited, since a peek in the darkroom has revealed a large and clean work area, and I'll be able to rent it.

I'd like to say I finally broke down in order to satisfy my quest for photographic knowledge, but the REAL reason is because of this last exchange between me and my husband, who has done all our developing for years. He’s an aerial photographer by trade and has a darkroom at work. We buy our own chemicals according to what film we’re developing. I recently shot some HIE and asked him to stay late and bring me home a contact sheet.

ME: This contact sheet looks funny. Everything looks flat. Are my negatives this crappy?

HIM: Your negs are okay. I used #2 paper. You know.

ME: No, I don't know. What do you mean?

HIM: I mean #2 paper is not the most contrasty paper. Come on - you KNOW that.

ME: Why would I know that?? I've never spent any time in a dark room!

HIM: Oh, here we go again.....

ME: What does THAT mean??

HIM: It was also chemically fogged.

ME: Huh?

HIM: The paper. It was out of date. I can’t use up work supplies for our crap, and I found this stuff in the back. Don’t get all bent out of shape. It’s a freakin’ contact sheet.

ME: .....

HIM: Don’t ask for prints anytime soon, either. I noticed the easel is warped. Someone must have been screwing around back there.

ME: That does it! I’m calling the school! Why can’t I just learn to do this myself?

HIM: Thought you’d never ask!

Wish me luck!!!! :wink:

Good luck!

Working in the dark is a wonderful thing. I totally dig Adobe PS, don't get me wrong, but working in the darkroom brings thoughts to mind like when Obi makes Luke fight the drone with the blast visor down, or when Kwai Chang Kane ("grasshopper") dodges spears blind folded.