Jewelry Photography and PC integration? PLEASE HELP!?

amayer1025

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a software/web designer and I'm doing a website for a client who wants me to photograph his inventory and display it online for sale. Here are the questions I have:

1. What camera should I purchase? I understand I will have to put out a few bucks but am looking to spend as little as I can to accomplish the task.
Camera needs to be capable of remote live viewing/capturing. I would like to be able to control it from my desktop pc. I also have to be able to create scripts or batch commands so that I can select an appropriate script for certain jewelry such as rings or necklaces and the camera will use predetermined focus points, shutter speed, & aperature etc. I also need to be able to batch crop and resize the images. I am setting up a table that will have the tripod mounted and I will have the jewelry displays setup so they are in the same spot consistently except when i swap out a finger prop for a ring to a necklace prop or earring prop. So to summarize what I'm trying to accomplish:
  • [*=2]Camera can be controlled from pc (live view / capture)[*=2]Camera settings can be automated from script or batch commands (focus point/shutter/aperature/etc)[*=2]Ability to size images according to script and auto-crop and Sequentially Name Images
I have tons of lighting equipment as I have tried to accomplish this some time ago and bought a canon which happened to be unable to remote capture etc, and at the time I also realized my need for batch settings and auto crop etc I have lighting boxes, light stands, and other misc stuff.

Sorry for the ranting and unorganized post, but bottom line is this:
What camera can I purchase that can accomplish everything mentioned above, without breaking the bank. Also I'm not looking for perfection as Im new to photography and am looking for decent/acceptable images, not complete perfection.