Just because your friends & family think your photos are good, doesn't mean they are.

CourtneyAK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am VERY new to Photography, as I just got my first DSLR for Christmas. I've been taking a lot of nature and landscape shots, and just took a few pictures of a friends baby yesterday. I had a photographer friend make a comment to me on Facebook, that I should take some photography classes, as I have an eye for photography....but then continued to say that just because your friends and family think that your photos are good, it doesn't mean they are....so with that being said, I wasn't sure if she was complimenting me, or telling me my photos stunk! So, is there a good place to post photos to get others thoughts? I just joined this forum and am still exploring...

Thanks!
~Courtney

Your family and friends probably know nothing at all about photography... so almost anything you do, they will probably praise (which will make you feel wonderful!)

But when dealing with people that know photography, the standards will be much higher. The vast majority of stuff that is on Facebook, is poorly shot, poorly processed, and is often poorly shot and badly OVER processed!

When you post photos here, keep in mind that some C&C may seem harsh... but it is meant to help. Don't get your feelings hurt... just learn!

I wasn't sure if she was complimenting me, or telling me my photos stunk!

The commenter may have seen some glimmer of talent, but raw talent is only part of it. The rest of the story is skill.

As in most human endeavors, success ranges from not good to very good. Where do you wish your work to be?

.............But when dealing with people that know photography, the standards will be much higher. .......

And when dealing with people who 1. are strangers and 2. you expect them to part with their money for your work, an even different set of standards will come into play.