Just getting started

alohahannah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I work a full-time job and recently graduated with my masters. I found myself increasingly bored after work as I did not have any homework or research. My parents have a Canon Rebel T1i that they rarely use, so I picked it up, started shooting, and have done some research/practice along the way. I'll be the first to admit that I am an amateur, and I do not pretend to know everything about photography. Anyhow, this photo of my nephew is probably my favorite thus far. Hindsight, I would have not cut off his chin and the top of his head, and the right-side (left on the picture) of his face may have too much of a shadow. I chose a gray-scale because I was trying to highlight his blonde hair/blue eyes, but the background lighting/color distracted from those features. I shot with a 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Am I on the right track? Thanks! -HannahView attachment 104313

Kind of hard to tell if you're on the right track. The shot is fine other than the cropping. Lighting (and use of shadows) is relative and subjective. I don't think your choice to wipe color highlights his BLUE eyes. Too many times monochrome/B&W is used when it isn't the most appropriate style for the shot. If you are trying to emphasize color, why not use color?

But the background is sufficiently blurred to pull his face out and direct our attention. Don't know of that was planned or not. Given the distance between his face and the background items, some amount of blur is rather a given.

His eyes are in focus. If you're photographing living beings, that's a first rule you've managed.

But this shot could have been taken with a fairly inexpensive point and shoot set to "portrait" mode. In other words, particularly considering the cropping, this doesn't indicate any great thought or planning to come up with this image.

I think you need to show us more before we can really say what road you're on.