Just joined

seehim

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi
I am new to digital photography and have picked up 3 cameras to get myself in to this hobby.
Sony R1, Sony 717, and a Fuji F31f. I would appreciate any feedback on my choice of equipment.
I chose the Fuji F31f as I read somewhere that it is good for low light indoor shots
I have tried a few shots of a baby in a dark room using a nearby tablelamp for lighting but the shots turned out fairly grainy.The camera selected 3200 ISO.
Do I need to increase the light, or choose a different camera setting.?
I dont have an owners manual. Is there a formulae?
Any F31 owners out there ?
Should I select N/sp, M, Auto, or A/S ? for low light shots without flash ?

Welcome to the forum.

Those cameras are a little old, but only because technology moves so fast. The only one that really interest me, is the Sony R1 because that one has a larger sensor. 95% of digital cameras have very small image sensors but the R1 was one of the first 'point & shoot' style cameras to actually have a larger sensor. I think that may have been a failed experiment though, because the price of DSLR cameras has come down so much that it doesn't make much sense to spend that much on a P&S style camera.

I have tried a few shots of a baby in a dark room using a nearby tablelamp for lighting but the shots turned out fairly grainy.The camera selected 3200 ISO.
All but the newest and/or most expensive cameras have trouble at ISO levels that high. A camera with a small sensor like that, it going to have a really hard time at ISO 3200...frankly, I'm surprised it's even an option on that camera.

Do I need to increase the light, or choose a different camera setting.?
Increasing the light is probably the best option. That's why cameras have a flash...although, the built-in flash on most cameras will give a terrible 'flat' light that photos just don't look good.