Just starting out...

meganc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post here. I'm just starting out with photography and such. I have had regular digitals, and have a 6mp digital now, but I am wanting a dslr. I was looking at the Nikon D80, and I have read a lot of reviews on it. It seems like a pretty nice camera, and there are many things I like about it. But I am sort of on a low budget, and I wouldn't be able to even get the body with most of the prices I have seen. I know most cameras are going to be in that price range, so I'm probably going to have to save up. I probably want to get the body only and get a better lens. What do you think about the D80 though? Or do you suggest another camera for a beginner?

i have a Canon Powershot G3 and i really like it and its not at all hard to use. maybe you should read up on it and see if it has what you're looking for (but its only 4mp, which is fine for a beginner. well depending on how big you plan to make your pictures) good luck with camera hunting =)

The D80 is an excellent bebinner camera. I personally am not an huge fan of the small size but that is just because of my big hands. Besides the only solution to this would be a D200.

From everything I've read the D80 is a fine camera. You might also want to check out Canon's Rebel XT and XTi.

A good idea too is go to a local camera shop and hold different cameras and see which one you like the best.

Thanks for the replies.
I have looked at the Canon Rebel XTi, and I like that camera too.
I'm definitely going to go to a camera store soon, might even be tonight.
But I'm probably not going to get my camera for a little while, cause of the whole money issue.

Hey there and welcome :)

I am a beginner to and just got a Nikon D80. Love it, lots for me to learn but I am having such a fun time with it! Have fun finding what fits you best.