Kenya Wildlife - Lens

ketan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,
Planning to go to Kenya for a safari this year. I am thinking of taking 70-200 f/4 IS for zoom and 10-20 Sigma for landscapes.
Read on the net that 200 range is just not enough for wildlife.
By profession, I am an accountant and not a pro photographer, therefore, not very sure to spend so much money on this lens. It is almost 50% more that what I am prepared to spend right now (thinking that will buy 50-500 Sigma). Otherwise also not sure that what to do with the lens once back from safari. Can not get lens on rent in this part of the world.
Is this lens tooo heavy handheld? As in safari rarely you get chance to spread tripod in the van.
Need help in making up mind.
Ketan

if the lens is too heavy, get a monopod

Personally I'd look into the Canon version of the 200-400 f/4 that nikon's got. (Don't know what's available from Canon, but somebody must have a similar lens.)

With a crop body that gives you a range of 300-600 @ f/4 and up to 600-1200 f/8 with a TC.

Whatever L series lens you buy should be able to sell quite easily when you get back. The Canon 100-400mm Lens is cheaper than the Sigma, but 100mm shorter. Adding a 1.4x TC gives you 560mm on the long end and that's even before consider the crop factor of your camera. You could sell both when you got back or you might find that you like them. I would also look for both items used. As long as the owner has maintained the equipment, they hold their value quite well.

I would go with the Sigma 120-400 F4.5-5.6 OS This is a fantastic lens that I would put right next to the Nikon and Canon equivalents but at a much cheaper price. The also have the 150-500 but I favor the 120-400, though both have excellent image quality to them. I have rented this lens and the Canon version several times and found no real difference. So in the next couple months its the lens I plan on buying. Hope this helps