Lacking Substance

tevo

Recovering TPF Junkie
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I feel as though I have reached a plateau with my photography. When I first got my camera and was exploring photography, there was an air of wonderment and mystery about it that made the art very intimate and appealing to me. I have certainly learned a great deal about photography through these few years, but at this point I feel that I am no longer improving. In comparing my work to that of others, I feel that my photographs are lacking substance, story and emotion. I feel stifled and restricted by my own knowledge and lack there of, and am realizing that my photos lack true expression of my emotion or views. With this realization comes the epiphany that I have had a very basic (high school) teaching of composition, and everything else was self taught. I am looking now to re discover the wonderment of photography and continue to improve as I once was. I'm asking you, the reader of this eloquently written tevoian forum entry to post any valuable resources for learning composition, storytelling, and artistic expression in general. The Photo Forum has gotten me this far, and I'm looking to you to once again to push me onward.

Have you studied the greats ? HCB,Edward Weston, Frank, Capa, Kertesz
ect
Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2

I have not. This sounds like a great place to start. Thanks Gary.

I recently have been slowing down with my photography as well, it feels like my pictures haven't been progressing at all. SO I know how you feel, it does help to go to classes though. Gets one inspired to go back out there. I say take some classes, take tons of pictures and just watch them get better.

what do you want to shot?
how do you want to shot?
How do you want to edit?