Landscape Improvement

Allizdog89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
No not mowing the lawn.

Although it may be hard to tell (sarcasm) I am a newb. I would like to get some advice on how I can compose, shoot, and edit my photos, particularly landscapes.

I think this photo is a good "template" I guess. How could I improve in the process of taking this photo, from start to end. Should I have not included the nearby shore line and start at the waterline? Better angle? Different aperature/shutter? Adjust levels in photoshop?

Basically Im asking how could I make this photo worth looking at? (If possible to begin with lol)

Please disregard the random objects (pink hummingbird, umbrellas). I know those should be kept out of the photo.
Thanks in advance!

DSC_0205.jpg

Last edited:
Taking this as a 'template', meaning to me it's not very interesting to me. I would not have included the shore line as it is. The branches in the top left is a distracting to me. It looks like it's level, looking at the vertical columns.

If I were to re-shoot this, I would either get up at sunrise or wait until near sunset when the conditions are better. I said earlier that I would not have included the shore line. I would have shot a few frames like that, but I can see some of those rocks at the shore line. I would try and compose the rock(s) as an 'anchor' for the foreground and include the water and some interesting background, in this case I guess it's the building.

Hope this helps. :)

Alright when I get the chance Ill return to the location at sunset and make some improvements and put up the revised product =)